The Order of the Northwest Territories inducted its first-ever members at an induction ceremony in October at the legislative assembly. The medal is the highest honour in the territory and “recognizes individuals who have served with the greatest distinction and excelled in any field of endeavour benefiting the people of the Northwest Territories or elsewhere.”

The Orders inaugural members are: Bruce Green of Hay River for his work in arts and culture, community leadership, education, science and technology, sports and recreation and volunteer services; Lucy Jackson of Fort Good Hope for her work in arts and culture, communications, community leadership, education, public service and volunteer services; Sonny MacDonald of Fort Smith for his work in arts and culture and teaching carving to children across the territory; Gino Pin, a Yellowknife architect; Ruth Spence of Yellowknife for community leadership; and John B. Zoe of Behchoko  for his work in self-government and northern development.

George Tuccaro, NWT Commissioner, presented the inductees with their insignia, and was also inducted himself.