To mark Nunavut Day this year, Crown-Indigenous Relations and Northern Affairs Minister Carolyn Bennett travelled to Kugluktuk to meet with Nunavut officials and sign the Canadian Heritage Rivers Inuit Impacts and Benefits Agreement (IBBA). The IIBA covers four Nunavut rivers: the Kazan River (Sarvaqtuuq), the Soper River (Kuujuaq), the Thelon River (Akillinik) and the Coppermine River (Qurluktuk).

The agreement fulfills obligations set out in the Nunavut Agreement that require parties to negotiate an IIBA for any national park or conservation area established in the territory. Under the newly signed IIBA, the federal government will pay Nunavut Tunngavik Incorporated and each of the three regional Inuit associations $6.7 million to perform water quality monitoring, build Inuit cultural camps along the designated rivers and create a fund for business opportunities in those regions.