Home Living Above & Beyond New Inuit-Crown partnership agreement signed

New Inuit-Crown partnership agreement signed

Prime Minister Justin Trudeau and Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami President Natan Obed sign the Inuit-Crown Partnership Declaration in Iqaluit. © Adam Scotti/PMO

In February, the Government of Canada and Inuit leaders signed an agreement to launch a new Inuit-Crown Partnership Committee.

The joint political body will help foster a new working relationship between Canadian Inuit and the Crown and act on shared priorities and monitor progress going forward while underscoring the common goal of creating prosperity for all Inuit, which benefits all Canadians. The Inuit-Crown Partnership Declaration states that the group will pursue “the socio-economic, cultural, and environmental conditions of success through the full implementation of land claims agreements as well as reconciliation”.

The signing ceremony to officially create the bilateral policy committee with Inuit took place at the Iqaluit offices of Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. (NTI) at 1:30 pm February 9 with Prime Minister Justin Trudeau meeting Inuit leaders from across Inuit Nunangat.

“We know that working together in a respect­ful, collaborative and engaged way is the only way to be worthy of the expectations of so many people,” Trudeau said.

The working policy group will consist of four federal ministers; president Natan Obed, Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami; President Aluki Kotierk, NTI; President Jobie Tukkiapik, Makivik Corporation; Chair/CEO Duane Smith, Inuvialuit Regional Corporation; and President Johannes Lampe, Nunatsiavut Government. The Committee also includes the presidents of three regional Inuit organizations: The National Inuit Youth Council, Pauktuutit Inuit Women of Canada, and the Inuit Circumpolar Council Canada as observers.