Home Living Above & Beyond NWT residents honoured

NWT residents honoured

2018 Order of the NWT Recipients: Sharon Firth, Les Carpenter (awarded posthumously, accepted by his brother Merle on his behalf), and Lillian Elias. © Pat Kane Photography

Three new recipients of the Order of the Northwest Territories were inducted at the Legislative Assembly building in Yellowknife on October 30.

The late Les Carpenter was recognized for his work in indigenous media. He was CEO for the Native Communications Society of the NWT, which owns CKLB Radio. The station, based in Yellowknife, broadcasts in five languages to 30 communities in the NWT and northern Alberta.

Lillian Elias, from Inuvik, received the award for her work with the Inuvialuit language and for being a strong advocate for language revitalization.

Sharon Firth was awarded for her athletic achievements and her work promoting sports and recreation, and for volunteering with Northern sports organizations. A Gwich’in athlete from Aklavik, Firth competed in four Olympic games in the 1970s and 1980s.

Established in 2013, the Order of the Northwest Territories is the highest honour awarded to NWT residents.