The 21st annual NWT Tourism Conference and Annual General Meeting was held in Inuvik, Northwest Territories, November 1 to 3, 2017.

The conference stimulated dialogue not only about the new highway to Tuktoyaktuk and the new tourism opportunities that it will create but also how the tourism industry can help grow the Northwest Territories’ economy to $235 million by 2020-21. Keynote speaker Bruce Kirkby inspired delegates to think about such changes, like the new highway, as new opportunities to pursue for success.

The 2017 NWT tourism awards were announced at the Gala dinner. Lucy Simon, camp attendant at Sambaa Deh Territorial Park, received the GNWT Parks Hospitality Award. Mary Tapsell, Guide for My Backyard Tours, received the Service Excellence Award. Yellow Dog Lodge was named NWT Tourism Operator of the Year. Marion Lavigne, from Outcrop Communications/Up Here Magazine, was presented with the Mike Stillwell Lifetime Achievement Award, acknowledging over 40 years of a positive legacy and significant contribution to NWT’s growing tourism industry.