Home Living Above & Beyond Order of Nunavut recipients honoured

Order of Nunavut recipients honoured

L to R: The Honourable Nellie Taptaqut Kusugak, Commissioner of Nunavut and Chancellor of the Order of Nunavut; Ludy Pudlu; Betty Brewster; The Honourable Joe Enook, MLA, Speaker Legislative Assembly; and The Honourable Paul Quassa, Premier of Nunavut. © Michel Albert

Betty Brewster and Ludy Pudluk received the Order of Nunavut honour in June at the Nunavut Legislature.

Betty Brewster, a long-serving interpreter-translator, known throughout Nunavut and beyond, is renowned for her knowledge of many Inuit language dialects, including Inuinnaqtun, Roman orthography and the eastern dialects.

Ludy Pudluk, a former MLA and mayor of Resolute Bay, is originally from the Pond Inlet area, spending most of his life in Resolute Bay after being relocated there in the 1950s. From 1975 to 1991, he was elected four times to serve as a member of the Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories, representing the constituency of High Arctic. After the electoral district’s name changed to Quttiktuq, he won re-election in 1991 and served as a territorial MLA until 1995. Following his 20-year career as an MLA, Pudluk served as mayor of Resolute Bay and participated in other local organizations.