Home Living Above & Beyond Order of Canada recipients honoured

Order of Canada recipients honoured

Her Excellency presented the Member insignia of the Order of Canada to Eva Aariak, C.M. © Sgt Johanie Maheu, Rideau Hall © OSGG, 2019.

Eva Aariak was appointed a Member of the Order of Canada by Governor General Julie Payette in May.

A former Nunavut Premier, and originally from Arctic Bay, Nunavut, Aariak was honoured for her dedication to promoting Inuit culture and languages. Aariak has also worked as an Inuktitut teacher, a CBC reporter, and was Nunavut’s first language commissioner. She now lives in Iqaluit where she works with the Qikiqtani Inuit Association and owns a store, Malikkaat, selling Inuit-made goods and crafts.

Also during the May ceremony, Louis Kamookak, an oral historian widely known for his documentation of Inuit history connected to the Franklin expedition, was recognized. He was awarded with the level of officer, which acknowledges national service or achievements. Kamookak died March 22, 2018. His wife, Josephine, received the Order of Canada on his behalf.

For more information about the Order of Canada or to nominate someone, visit www.gg.ca.

Previous articleNWT gets funds
Next articleKugaaruk