Home Living Above & Beyond Tasiujaq mushers win annual race again

Tasiujaq mushers win annual race again

As per Ivakkak Tradition Team 9 is raised not only in victory, but in congratulations on completing the 700+ kilometre journey between Chisasibi and Inukjuak. It was the second year in a row for these mushers from Tasiujaq to win. © Makivik | Ivakkak 2019

The 18th Annual Ivakkak dog race returned to Nunavik trails February 25, 2019 beginning in the community of Chisasibi, passing through Kuujjuaraapik and Umiujaq, heading north along the coast to the finish line in Inukjuak. It was the first time the Race included Chisasibi, home to an Inuit population registered under the James Bay and Northern Quebec Agreement.

As of March 5, Ivakkak champions Willie Cain Jr. and Ken Labbe, Team 9, sat in first place, followed by Aisa and Carlos Surusilak, Team 5, from Puvirnituq.

Both Teams held their positions to the end of the Race March 10, with Team 7, Peter Boy and Eric Ittukallak, placing third. Final times were 57:41:21, 59:43:20, and 63:14:11 consecutively.

Previous articleEntrepreNorth Program
Next articleIgloolik